OnsenQuest

Prefectures / Toyama

Mikurigaike Onsen

みくりが池温泉

Policy not published (day visit)Policy not published (overnight)

Can you bathe here with a tattoo?

This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.

Visiting for the day

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

Staying overnight

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

How it scores

Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.

ViewWaterComfortSettingAccess

Verified by the editor

View3
Water4.5
Comfort4
Setting5
Access3
Somewhere to sitA small rest area
Anything else nearbyIn the middle of things

Japan's highest hot spring, at 2,410m on the Murodo plateau, on strongly acidic water at pH 2.28 running 100% free-flowing from Jigokudani next door. Indoor tubs only - there is no open-air bath, which is why the view score is held down despite the setting. Everything around it is national park: Mikurigaike pond, the Jigokudani steam vents and the Raichozawa trails are all on the doorstep. Open roughly mid-April to late November and shut all winter.

Every onsen on this site is scored against the same written rubric, and every score has been reviewed by the editor. The ones marked Visited were also bathed in personally.

The baths

Indoor bath

Indoor baths only, with a hotter tub and a cooler one. The water is 100% free-flowing from the source at Jigokudani nearby - strongly acidic at pH 2.28 and 45C at the wellhead. There is no open-air bath and no private bath.

Open to day visitors

Practical details

Day visits
Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.
9:00-16:00, season only (15 April - 24 November 2026)
Day visit price
¥1,100
1,100 yen for adults, 800 yen for children. Day-use bathing can be stopped at short notice depending on conditions. The inn is closed in winter; the 2026 season runs 15 April to 24 November, and from 4 November onwards even the 15-minute walk from Murodo needs winter mountain gear.
Staying overnight
Yes
from about ¥13,000 per person
Getting there
The highest hot spring in Japan, at 2,410m on the Murodo plateau in the Northern Japan Alps. No road reaches it: you take the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route from either the Toyama or the Nagano side to Murodo Terminal, then walk about 15 minutes on a stone-paved path with steps and slopes. In April and May that path is through deep snow. Wheelchairs cannot make it. The altitude is high enough that altitude sickness is a real risk, and the inn advises anyone with diabetes, high blood pressure or heart conditions to consult a doctor first, because emergency response up here is difficult.
Official website
www.mikuri.com/onsen

Visit the official website ↗

Book it

The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.

About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.

What we have not confirmed

We would rather show a gap than guess.