OnsenQuest

Prefectures / Toyama

Kuronagi Onsen Ryokan

黒薙温泉旅館 · Kuronagi Onsen

Policy not published (day visit)Policy not published (overnight)

Can you bathe here with a tattoo?

This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.

Visiting for the day

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

Staying overnight

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

How it scores

Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.

ViewWaterComfortSettingAccess

Verified by the editor

View4
Water4
Comfort3
Setting5
Access2
×Somewhere to sitBathe and leave
Anything else nearbyNearby, but off to one side

The oldest inn in the Kurobe Gorge, a 20-minute walk up a mountain path from a request stop on a seasonal sightseeing railway, with no road to it. The source pours out at 2,000 litres a minute and feeds the whole of Unazuki Onsen downstream, and the big mixed open-air bath sits right in the gorge. Plain and cash-only. Access scores low because it is train-and-hike only for half the year - which is exactly why it is quiet.

Every onsen on this site is scored against the same written rubric, and every score has been reviewed by the editor. The ones marked Visited were also bathed in personally.

The baths

Open-air bath

The large mixed-gender open-air bath, fed straight from the source that also supplies the whole of Unazuki Onsen downstream. Swimwear and a bath towel may be worn in it, which in practice makes it usable if you would rather not undress in a mixed bath. Part of the day is set aside as women-only. There is also a separate women's open-air bath, Tennyo-no-yu, which has men-only hours. Both open-air baths close at 20:00.

Open to day visitors

Indoor bath

Indoor bath on 100% source water, open around the clock for staying guests except during cleaning.

Open to day visitors

Practical details

Day visits
Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.
Reception 9:00-15:15, season only (1 May - 24 November 2026)
Day visit price
¥1,100
1,100 yen for adults, 500 yen for children, free below school age. The inn takes cash only - no credit cards, e-money or QR payments - and there is no cash machine anywhere up the gorge, so bring notes. The 2026 season runs 1 May to the morning of 24 November, with the inn closed on 8 July and 7 October.
Staying overnight
Yes
Getting there
Deep in the Kurobe Gorge and reachable only by the Kurobe Gorge Railway, a seasonal sightseeing train from Unazuki. Get off at Kuronagi Station, climb the steps on the far side of the platform and walk about 20 minutes up a mountain path to the inn. There is no road and no car access. Reservations for the train are needed, the line runs roughly May to November, and the inn's own season is 1 May - 24 November 2026.
Official website
www.kuronagi.jp

Visit the official website ↗

Book it

The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.

About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.

What we have not confirmed

We would rather show a gap than guess.