Onsen Ryokan Marumo
温泉旅館 丸茂 · Tottori Onsen
Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
Staying overnight
Tattoos are not allowed in the shared baths, but you can bathe in a private or in-room bath.
Source: official website · checked 2026-09-15
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Indoor bath
Large baths ('Yubune' 1 and 2) filled with the inn's own hot, free-flowing spring, drained and cleaned daily. Guests can bathe from check-in until 8:30 the next morning, overnight included. Whether any part is open-air is not stated.
Private (kashikiri) bath
Family bath 'San no Yu' for private use - no extra charge and no booking for overnight guests; aim for about an hour. Whether day visitors can use it is not stated.
A private bath means nobody else is in the water with you — often the practical answer if the shared baths are closed to tattooed guests.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.13:00-16:00 (phone to confirm before coming)
- Day visit price
- ¥1,2001,200 yen for adults (junior-high age and over), 600 yen for children, infants free. The inn asks day visitors to phone first.
- Staying overnight
- Yes
- Getting there
- 5 minutes on foot from JR Tottori Station, in the Tottori Onsen district. No shuttle. About 20 free parking spaces.
- Official website
- onsen-marumo.com
Book it
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.