Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. A private (kashikiri) bath is available, which is often an option for tattooed guests.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Indoor bath
A Showa-era neighbourhood bathhouse (sento) with free-flowing natural hot-spring water at sento prices. There is a restaurant bar upstairs with live jazz some evenings.
Private (kashikiri) bath
The bath can be hired privately by reservation - book at the counter or by phone by the day before (6:00-10:00 or 14:00-24:00). The private-hire fee changed in June 2026; check the Facebook page.
A private bath means nobody else is in the water with you — often the practical answer if the shared baths are closed to tattooed guests.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.6:00-10:00 and 14:00-24:00 (closed 10:00-14:00); closed New Year's Day and the 2nd Monday of each month (open every day in January and August apart from New Year's Day)
- Day visit price
- ¥550Since 1 May 2025: 550 yen for adults, 300 yen junior-high, 200 yen primary school, 100 yen pre-school.
- Staying overnight
- No
- Getting there
- About 7 minutes on foot from JR Tottori Station. 11 parking spaces (first hour free for bathers).
- Official website
- ja-jp.facebook.com/hinomaruonsen
Staying nearby
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.