Gozenyu (Arifuku Onsen public bath)
有福温泉 御前湯 · Arifuku Onsen
Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Indoor bath
The hottest of Arifuku's three bathhouses, and the one to pick in cold weather. Free-flowing alkaline water that comes out of the rock face with no heating and no water added; it feels slippery on the skin, which is where the 'beauty spring' reputation comes from. The building is the town's landmark - a retro-modern bathhouse at the top of the stone steps.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.7:00-22:00 (last entry 21:30). Closed Tuesdays, but open through the New Year holidays.
- Day visit price
- ¥400400 yen from junior-high age up, 200 yen for primary-school children, free for younger children. A hairdryer, shampoo and body soap are provided. The same 400 yen buys any of Arifuku's three public baths, which is what the town's bath-hopping is built on.
- Staying overnight
- No
- Getting there
- About 30 minutes by bus from either JR Hamada or JR Gotsu Station on the San'in Main Line, getting off at Arifuku Onsen, then roughly 3 minutes on foot. About 15 minutes by car from the Hamada-Higashi interchange or 10 from Gotsu-Nishi on the San'in Expressway.
- Official website
- www.arifuku-onsen.com/bathhouse/detail?id=266
Staying nearby
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.