OnsenQuest

Prefectures / Wakayama

Ryokan Adumaya

旅館あづまや · Yunomine Onsen

Policy not published (day visit)Policy not published (overnight)

Can you bathe here with a tattoo?

This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.

Visiting for the day

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

Staying overnight

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. A private or in-room bath is available, which is often an option for tattooed guests.

How it scores

Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.

ViewWaterComfortSettingAccess

Verified by the editor

View1
Water4.5
Comfort4
Setting4
Access2.5
△Somewhere to sit — A small rest area
○Anything else nearby — In the middle of things

A historic wooden inn on the Kumano Kodo whose bathhouse is fed straight from the 92.5C Yunomine source, including the medicinal 'kusuri-yu' and an old steam-and-pressure 'oshi-buro'. Indoor bathing only, and while the inn's own page still lists a day-visitor price, several other sites report that day-use bathing has stopped - phone before turning up without a booking.

Every onsen on this site is scored against the same written rubric. This score has been reviewed by the editor. The ones marked Visited were also bathed in personally.

The baths

Indoor bath

A wooden bathhouse fed directly by the Yunomine source (92.5C at the well, pH 7.6), including the 'kusuri-yu' medicinal bath and an 'oshi-buro' steam-and-pressure bath. Yunomine claims a 1,800-year history and is often called Japan's oldest hot spring.

Open to day visitors

Private (kashikiri) bath

The inn lists a private bath (kashikiri-buro) alongside the main baths, but publishes no price, booking method or opening hours for it.

A private bath means nobody else is in the water with you — often the practical answer if the shared baths are closed to tattooed guests.

Practical details

Day visits
Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.
Day visit price
¥730
Adult 730 yen, child (age 3 to elementary school) 420 yen. Several third-party listings state that the inn has stopped taking day-use bathers, while the inn's own page still lists the price - phone ahead before making the trip.
Staying overnight
Yes
Getting there
In Yunomine Onsen village on the Kumano Kodo, a short walk from the Yunomine Onsen bus stop; about 1 hour 40 minutes by Ryujin bus from JR Kii-Tanabe Station.
Official website
www.adumaya.co.jp

Visit the official website ↗

Book it

The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.

About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.

What we have not confirmed

We would rather show a gap than guess.

More onsen in and around Yunomine

Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.

Lists for this area