Yukichichibu (Niseko Yumoto Onsen)
蘭越町交流促進センター 雪秩父 · Niseko Onsen
Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Open-air bath
Seven open-air baths looking at Mt Nitonupuri, town-run. The women's side has a mud bath. Two spring types: a simple sulphur spring (hydrogen-sulphide type) and a simple hot spring locally called the iron spring. Smartphones and valuables may not be taken into the bathing area.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.Bathing 10:00-19:00 in summer and 12:00-19:00 in winter; reception 10:00-18:30 (1 Apr-31 Oct) and 12:00-18:30 (1 Nov-31 Mar). Closed Tuesdays (the next day if Tuesday is a holiday)
- Day visit price
- ¥900900 yen adult / 300 yen elementary child. Cash in Japanese yen only - no cards and no e-money. Rinse-in shampoo and body soap are provided; bath and face towels rent for 300 yen each. A 12-visit ticket book is 9,000 yen. Children under 5 or under 105 cm are not admitted because of hydrogen-sulphide risk, and nappies are not allowed.
- Staying overnight
- No
- Getting there
- Deep in Niseko Yumoto Onsen at 680 Yuzato, Rankoshi town, on the Niseko Panorama Line. There is no bus: it is about 30 minutes by taxi from JR Kombu Station or JR Niseko Station on the Hakodate Main Line, and about 3 hours from Sapporo by car (Route 5 via Rankoshi, then about 20 minutes up the prefectural road). Open through winter. Some car navigation systems mis-locate the name Yukichichibu (雪秩父) as the town hall; search for Niseko Yumoto Onsen (ニセコ湯本温泉) instead.
- Official website
- town.rankoshi.hokkaido.jp/administration/tourism/detail.html?content=285
Staying nearby
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why Agoda for Japan: it lists a lot of ryokan and small inns that the Western booking sites never picked up, and it usually prices Japanese properties in yen, so you are not paying a conversion spread on top of the room rate. Worth comparing before you book — the difference on a ryokan is often larger than you would expect.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
Getting in from the airport
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why not the train: the last leg to an onsen is usually a local bus with nowhere to put a suitcase. A fixed-price car is booked in English and quoted before you travel, tolls and fuel included.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.
More onsen in and around Niseko
Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.