OnsenQuest

Prefectures / Hokkaido

Niseko Goshiki Onsen Ryokan

ニセコ五色温泉旅館 · Niseko Onsen

Policy not published (day visit)Policy not published (overnight)

Can you bathe here with a tattoo?

This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.

Visiting for the day

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

Staying overnight

They have not said

The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.

How it scores

Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.

ViewWaterComfortSettingAccess

Verified by the editor

View4.5
Water5
Comfort3.5
Setting5
Access1.5
×Somewhere to sit — Bathe and leave
×Anything else nearby — Nothing else around

Sulphur water from Iwaonupuri arrives undiluted and unheated, and the open-air bath looks straight across at Mt Annupuri: the strongest pairing of water and setting in this dataset. The price is isolation - roughly 30 minutes by car from Kutchan in summer and about 50 by taxi in winter, when the Echo Line closes for the season.

Every onsen on this site is scored against the same written rubric. This score has been reviewed by the editor. The ones marked Visited were also bathed in personally.

The baths

Indoor bath

Undiluted, unheated sulphur water flowing straight from Iwaonupuri. Two indoor tubs in the main bath hall, plus the 'Karamatsu no Yu' built from larch felled in the ryokan's own managed forest.

Open to day visitors

Open-air bath

Large open-air bath looking across at Mt Annupuri.

Open to day visitors

Practical details

Day visits
Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.
Summer (May-Oct) 9:00-20:00, winter (Nov-Apr) 10:00-20:00; last entry 19:00 in both seasons
Day visit price
¥800
800 yen adult / 500 yen child (5 years to elementary) per the Niseko Resort Tourism Association listing; the ryokan's own price page shows the day-use rate only as an image, so it could not be read from the official site. Towels are sold, not lent (bath towel 600 yen, face towel 300 yen). Covered by the Niseko Yumeguri Pass (one blue sticker).
Staying overnight
Yes
Getting there
Effectively car- or taxi-only: about 30 minutes by car from JR Kutchan Station in summer, but about 50 minutes by taxi in winter because Prefectural Road 58 (the Echo Line) closes for the season and you must detour via the Niseko Panorama Line. There are 50 parking spaces. Winter closure of Road 58 in 2026 was lifted at 10:00 on 22 May.
Official website
goshikionsen.com

Visit the official website ↗

Book it

The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.

Why Agoda for Japan: it lists a lot of ryokan and small inns that the Western booking sites never picked up, and it usually prices Japanese properties in yen, so you are not paying a conversion spread on top of the room rate. Worth comparing before you book — the difference on a ryokan is often larger than you would expect.

About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.

Getting in from the airport

The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.

Why not the train: the last leg to an onsen is usually a local bus with nowhere to put a suitcase. A fixed-price car is booked in English and quoted before you travel, tolls and fuel included.

What we have not confirmed

We would rather show a gap than guess.

More onsen in and around Niseko

Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.

Lists for this area