Hotel Kanronomori
ニセコ昆布温泉 ホテル甘露の森 · Niseko Onsen
Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. A private (kashikiri) bath is available, which is often an option for tattooed guests.
Staying overnight
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. A private or in-room bath is available, which is often an option for tattooed guests.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Open-air bath
Two 'forest sky' open-air baths that alternate between men and women daily, open 11:00 to 9:00 the next morning for staying guests (last entry 8:30), with cleaning 9:00-11:00.
Indoor bath
Large indoor baths, also alternating daily. Sauna 11:00-24:00 and 6:00-9:00. Mixed bathing with a child is allowed only up to age 6 (pre-school).
Private (kashikiri) bath
A private family bath with its own loyly sauna, big enough for 10 or more, with a fridge in the changing room. 10,000 yen per group for 90 minutes, or 5,000 yen for staying guests - so day visitors CAN book it, at double the guest rate. Reservations open two days ahead. Bathing towels included. No window, so no view.
A private bath means nobody else is in the water with you — often the practical answer if the shared baths are closed to tattooed guests.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.From 11:00; last entry 20:00 on weekdays (baths until 21:00) and 18:00 at weekends and holidays (baths until 19:00)
- Day visit price
- ¥1,8001,800 yen adult / 500 yen elementary child / pre-schoolers free, and a towel set is included. Day-use can be refused when the hotel is full or the baths are being serviced, so phone first.
- Staying overnight
- Yes
- Getting there
- In Niseko Kombu Onsen; the nearest station is JR Niseko Station. The hotel runs a free reservation-only shuttle on a fixed timetable between JR Kutchan Station, JR Niseko Station and the hotel, but it is for staying guests only - day bathers need a car or taxi. A ski shuttle also runs in season.
- Official website
- www.kanronomori.com
Book it
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why Agoda for Japan: it lists a lot of ryokan and small inns that the Western booking sites never picked up, and it usually prices Japanese properties in yen, so you are not paying a conversion spread on top of the room rate. Worth comparing before you book — the difference on a ryokan is often larger than you would expect.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
Getting in from the airport
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why not the train: the last leg to an onsen is usually a local bus with nowhere to put a suitcase. A fixed-price car is booked in English and quoted before you travel, tolls and fuel included.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.
- The tattoo policy for overnight stays is not stated on the official website.
More onsen in and around Niseko
Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.