Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Indoor bath
One of Ito's seven 'Shichifukujin' communal bathhouses, and the oldest of them; its water was presented to the third Tokugawa shogun, Iemitsu.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.14:00-22:00
- Day visit price
- ¥400400 yen for adults, 200 yen for elementary-school children and under. The tourist board lists the older 14:30-22:30 hours alongside a note that they changed to 14:00-22:00 on 4 January 2025; the later figure is recorded here. Closed Wednesdays, plus occasional extra days each month.
- Staying overnight
- No
- Getting there
- 15 minutes on foot from JR Ito Station, in the Takenouchi district. Parking for 11 cars.
- Official website
- itospa.com/spa/detail_54040.html
Staying nearby
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why Agoda for Japan: it lists a lot of ryokan and small inns that the Western booking sites never picked up, and it usually prices Japanese properties in yen, so you are not paying a conversion spread on top of the room rate. Worth comparing before you book — the difference on a ryokan is often larger than you would expect.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.
More onsen in and around Ito
Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.