Sounkyo Kurodake no Yu
層雲峡 黒岳の湯 · Sounkyo Onsen
Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Indoor bath
Two large bath halls plus a sauna and cold bath, on a hypotonic weakly alkaline high-temperature spring. Opened 1 September 1998 as a town-run community facility.
Open-air bath
Third-floor open-air bath looking out over the Sounkyo gorge.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.1 May-31 Oct 10:00-22:30 (last entry 21:30); 1 Nov-30 Apr 11:00-21:30 (last entry 21:00); 31 Dec-3 Jan 11:00-18:00 (last entry 17:30)
- Day visit price
- ¥800800 yen adult / 400 yen child. Kamikawa town residents pay a reduced rate on showing ID. Open year-round apart from occasional maintenance closures. Note the town's separate day-use round-up page still lists 600/300 yen; the facility page and the Sounkyo Tourism Association both say 800/400.
- Staying overnight
- No
- Getting there
- The only day-use-only bath in Sounkyo Onsen, in the middle of the hot-spring village. Sounkyo has no railway station: Dohoku Bus runs from JR Kamikawa Station on the Sekihoku Main Line to Sounkyo in roughly 30 minutes, and buses also run from Asahikawa. Because it needs no hotel booking it is the easiest bath here for a car-free traveller.
- Official website
- www.town.hokkaido-kamikawa.lg.jp/section/sangyoukeizai/i8u8uo0000000a72.html
Staying nearby
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
Getting in from the airport
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why not the train: the last leg to an onsen is usually a local bus with nowhere to put a suitcase. A fixed-price car is booked in English and quoted before you travel, tolls and fuel included.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.
More onsen in and around Sounkyo
Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.
Hotel Taisetsu

Ryounkaku
