Dai-ichi Takimotokan
第一滝本館 · Noboribetsu Onsen
Can you bathe here with a tattoo?
This is the question we built the site around, so we answer it per situation.
Visiting for the day
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
Staying overnight
The tattoo policy is not stated publicly. Please contact the facility.
How it scores
Every onsen on this site is scored on the same five things.
The baths
Indoor bath
A separate 1,500-tsubo bath wing with 35 tubs across the men's and women's sides, fed by five different spring types (sulphur, salt, sodium bicarbonate, iron, alum) drawn straight from the source. The hotel's own FAQ states it has no family bath and no kashikiri (private) bath, so there is no private-bath fallback here.
Open-air bath
Open-air baths look onto the Jigokudani valley. Indoor baths run 4:00-25:00 and the open-air baths and sauna 4:00-24:00 for staying guests.
Practical details
- Day visits
- Yes — you can bathe without staying overnight.9:00-18:00 (day visitors must leave the building by 21:00)
- Day visit price
- ¥2,500Raised from 2,250 to 2,500 yen on 1 August 2026; children (3-12) 1,500 yen, under 3 free. The price includes bath and face towel rental and free use of the indoor swimming pool. Noboribetsu residents pay 1,920 yen on showing ID. The whole building closes for annual maintenance 5-15 April 2027.
- Staying overnight
- Yes
- Getting there
- Noboribetsu Onsen has no railway station of its own: Donan Bus links JR Noboribetsu Station to the hot-spring village in roughly 13-15 minutes. From Sapporo, Donan Bus runs the reservation-only 'Kosoku Onsen-go' direct highway bus from Sapporo Station Bus Terminal (stand 7 or 30) to the Noboribetsu Onsen stop in about 2 hours 20 minutes; by car, leave the expressway at Noboribetsu-Higashi IC. The hotel states it runs no courtesy shuttle.
- Official website
- takimotokan.co.jp/ja
Book it
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why Agoda for Japan: it lists a lot of ryokan and small inns that the Western booking sites never picked up, and it usually prices Japanese properties in yen, so you are not paying a conversion spread on top of the room rate. Worth comparing before you book — the difference on a ryokan is often larger than you would expect.
About the day-pass link: Asoview is the main place day-use onsen in Japan sell entry tickets and discount coupons in advance. It is a Japanese-only site, so use your browser’s translation — you show the ticket on your phone at the door.
Getting in from the airport
The links below are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you book through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list or how we score it.
Why not the train: the last leg to an onsen is usually a local bus with nowhere to put a suitcase. A fixed-price car is booked in English and quoted before you travel, tolls and fuel included.
What we have not confirmed
We would rather show a gap than guess.
- The tattoo policy for day visits is not stated on the official website.
- The tattoo policy for overnight stays is not stated on the official website.
More onsen in and around Noboribetsu
Checked the same way: tattoo policy, private baths and day visits.
Noboribetsu Manseikaku
Yumoto Sagiriyu
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel

Ryounkaku
